Hurricanes

Hurricane season officially runs from June through November when the waters of the Atlantic Ocean are warm enough to produce a tropical cyclone, a category of weather systems that includes tropical depressions, tropical storms and hurricanes.

Environment Canada's Canadian Hurricane Centre encourages Canadians to prepare for the hurricane season by securing your home to make it less vulnerable to flooding and high winds; by developing a family emergency plan; by creating an emergency kit, and by keeping up-to-date on weather and emergency updates. Find out more about how to be prepared below.

Up-to-date information

Canadians can find up-to-date information on storms occurring in their area by following Environment Canada's watches and warnings from Weather.gc.ca, via e-mail subscription, on Weatheradio, or through the local media.

What to do:

Hurricane facts

  • A hurricane is a tropical storm whose winds revolve around a center of low pressure.
  • The centre is called the eye. In the eye of a hurricane there is a calm area of blue sky.
  • Around the eye there are very strong winds – a minimum speed of 120 kilometres per hour – accompanied by torrential rains.
  • Hurricanes cause more widespread damage than tornadoes because they are bigger – some as large as 1,000 kilometres across.
  • One of the most destructive effect of a hurricane is the storm surge, often causing serious flooding.

Provincial information

Provinces are responsible for dealing with emergencies such as hurricanes in cooperation with local authorities. In some cases, the federal government may be asked to assist. Each province in Atlantic Canada has a website with information on the situation in their area. Some of the sites include practical information on preparing yourself, your family and your home for a hurricane.

Federal Role

The Government of Canada's Government Operations Centre (GOC) monitors developing storms that might impact the Atlantic Provinces. The GOC coordinates the federal government's response to events of national interest such as hurricanes that may affect the safety and security of Canadians or critical infrastructure. Should municipal or provincial governments request federal assistance to deal with a hurricane then the GOC would coordinate that response.

Ouragans

La saison des ouragans s'étend officiellement de juin jusqu'en novembre. Pendant cette période, les eaux de l'océan Atlantique sont suffisamment chaudes pour produire un cyclone tropical, une catégorie de systèmes météorologiques qui comprend les dépressions tropicales, les tempêtes tropicales et les ouragans.

Le Centre canadien de prévision des ouragans d'Environnement Canada encourage la population canadienne à se préparer à la saison des ouragans en protégeant leur maison afin de la rendre moins vulnérable aux inondations et aux vents violents, en créant un plan d'urgence familial, en rassemblant les articles nécessaires pour une trousse d'urgence et en s'informant des avis météorologiques et d'urgence. Vous trouverez plus de renseignements sur comment vous préparez plus bas.

Renseignements à jour

Les Canadiens peuvent trouver de l'information à jour sur les tempêtes qui se produisent dans leur région en suivant les veilles et alertes d'Environnement Canada sur le site Meteo.gc.ca, au moyen du service d'abonnement aux bulletins électroniques, sur Radiométéo, ou par l'intermédiaire des médias locaux.

Que faire :

Faits sur les ouragans

  • Un ouragan est une tempête tropicale dont les vents tournent autour d'un centre de basse pression.
  • Le centre d'un ouragan est appelé l'œil. Dans l'œil d'un ouragan, il y a une zone calme de beau temps.
  • Autour de l'œil, il y a des vents très violents, dont la vitesse minimale est de 120 kilomètres par heure, accompagnés de pluies torrentielles.
  • Les ouragans causent plus de dommages que les tornades, car ils sont plus imposants (certains peuvent avoir un diamètre de 1 000 kilomètres).
  • L'un des effets les plus destructeurs d'un ouragan est l'onde de tempête, qui provoque souvent des inondations importantes.

Information provinciale

Les provinces sont responsables, en coopération avec les autorités locales, de la gestion de situation d'urgence comme les ouragans. Dans certains cas, il est possible que l'on demande de l'aide du gouvernement fédéral. Chaque province de l'Atlantique a un site Web comprenant des informations sur la situation dans leur région. Certains de ces sites comprennent des informations pratiques sur la façon de vous préparer, de préparer votre famille et votre maison pour un ouragan.

Le rôle du gouvernement fédéral

Le Centre des opérations du gouvernement du Canada (COG) surveille les tempêtes en développement qui pourraient avoir une incidence dans les provinces de l'Atlantique. Le COG coordonne la réponse du gouvernement fédéral à la suite d'événements d'intérêt national, comme les ouragans, qui peuvent nuire à la sécurité des Canadiens ou à l'état des infrastructures essentielles. Si les administrations municipales ou les gouvernements provinciaux demandent de l'aide du gouvernement fédéral pour faire face à un ouragan alors le COG serait chargé de coordonner cette intervention.